Taking a household product and turning it into a creative ad

Have you ever thought you could take something as simple as a household product and turn into something more amazing? That is the idea behind a creative ad. I want to show you how I used Adobe Photoshop to blend some images together to make this creative ad you see above for a can opener by Hamilton Beach.

Brainstorm ideas

You can create any creative ad with little bit of imagination. The key is take the function of the product and display it in a creative way that will convey a message to your target audience. Like the can opener I have chosen above, can be literally used anywhere like an electric can opener without the cord. My specific target audience for this ad was males between the ages of 25 and 34, married, with an average income between 40k to 59k. Since my audience was males, I wanted to focus on where men would enjoy using this kind of product. So, naturally I thought of a tail gate party at a football game. Other ideas could be a vacation getaway, camping adventure, or even a backyard barbecue. The idea is to showcase this product somewhere on the go. I stuck with the theme of a football game tail gate party and was off to find some images to work with my design.

Selecting the right images

Since my theme was for static TV ad and website blogs, I have chosen two layout sizes for my images to follow

  • TV Static Ad – 1920px by 1080px (150-300 resolution/dpi)
  • Web/Blog Static Ad – 300px by 250px (72 resolution/dpi)

The images that I chosen to use for this project can all be found on the Adobe Stock website. There are many images you can find there to your related theme. Below is the images I used in my ad in there raw form to give you an idea I used them in my ad.  I decided to get photos that are related to a tail gate party. So I thought of the idea using the can opener to open the can to display the game on the lid of the can.

You can license any of these photos and more with a membership to use Adobe Stock images. They offer a free trial of 10 images a month you can use to try out the software. You can even preview them in Adobe Photoshop to see how they will work with your design before you purchase. You will also want to get high quality photos of your product  and a brand logo to display in the ad.

Using Photoshop

Now that you have a product, a creative idea, and photos you can now use them to arrange your creative idea. I decided to blend the part of the football picture into the lid of the can. I used the clone stamp to put a copy of the image on the lid. Then I fine tune the edges to blend it into the lid. Now I have a miniature T.V. for the user to watch the game so they can never miss a moment. I also place the table cloth on the bottom of the ad to make the items appear they are on the table. Now all that is left is to add the typography.

Typography

The typography I wanted to use matches the sans serif used in the logo. I wanted to use a similar font to keep the brand image of the company. I used Gibson for my headline “Open up your game anywhere…” and Open Sans Condensed for my body content. I position the headline on the barbecue. If you notice your eye is drawn into the food and starts at the thongs going down to the food and flows right into the text headline below. Then I position the text anywhere in italic to give emphasis that flows right into the open can that displays the game, and then to the can opener that open the can. Then finally your eye ends on the body content giving you call to action message to know where to find and buy the product. I align the headline text with the logo, and the logo on the same line as the body content. Notice how the body content is also inline with the can and the can opener.

Scaling down your ad

You will want multiple versions of your ad in different sizes to use in different media outlets. For this project I mention earlier that I have chosen two layouts. The blog size that I have chosen scales down to just 300px by 250px. This small space can be hard to work with without losing quality and easy read ability. You want to position your elements in a way that still show cases your overall message. Below is my example for this product theme.

Conclusion

Creating a creative ad starts with a creative idea that uses your product that matches your target audience. I was able to target my audience with a tail gate party to give the impression they can use my product anywhere while appealing to men that love the convenience of electric can opener without missing a moment of the game. Using Photoshop can give you the ability to create elements and blend images to give off an impression that is unforgettable.

 

Leave a Reply

